At the January 11, 2017 meeting of the Clark County Commissioners, the commissioners agreed to allocate $1,853,009 to non-mandated requests from various departments and organizations in the county. These included operating expenses of $29,100 for Dayton Development Coalition, $329,800 to Community Improvement Corporation (CIC), $133,000 to Clark County Soil and Water, $3,300 to Clark County Agriculture, and $276,450 to Ohio State University. They also allocated $140,650 to National Trail Parks and Recreation District (NTPRD) for the Splash Zone Water Park. As part of the five-year vehicle rotation program, they allocated $260,700 for replacement vehicles. Furthermore, they allocated $234,859 for 2% cost of living raises for county employees. By the time the budget was completed, the commissioners had approximately $220,000 left in unallocated funds.

As part of their annual re-organizational meeting, the commissioners elected Commissioner Richard Lohnes to serve as Board President for one year with his term ending on January 9, 2018. They also designated Commissioner Melanie Flax-Wilt to preside in the absence of the president.

In addition, the commissioners appointed the commissioners and staff to serve on various boards and committees.

Lohnes agreed to serve on the 9-1-1 Committee, the Audit Review Committee, the Board of Revisions, Base Closure and Realignment Commission (BRAC), CIC, County Planning, County Records Commission, Criminal Justice Council, Data Processing Board, Investment Advisory Board, Microfilm Board, alternate on the Transportation Coordinating Committee (TCC) and official representative for voting purposes at the annual meeting of the County Commissioners Association of Ohio.

Commissioner Flax-Wilt agreed to serve on the Area Agency on Aging, BRAC, Clark County Land Reutilization Corp, County Planning, Fair Housing, Keep Clark County Beautiful, Reentry Coalition Executive Committee, the Solid Waste Management Policy Committee, and the alternate representative for voting purposes at the annual meeting of the County Commissioners Association of Ohio.

Commissioner Lowell McGlothin agreed to serve on the Clark County Emergency Food and Shelter Board, Clark County Land Reutilization Corp, CIC, County Planning, Investment Advisory Board, OhioMeansJobs and the TCC.

As part of her regular duties, County Administrator Jennifer Hutchinson will serve on the Audit Review Committee, Criminal Justice Council, and the Data Processing Board. In addition, Clerk to the County Commissioners Megan Lokai, will serve on the Microfilm Board.

The commissioners agreed to meet every Wednesday at 8:30 a.m. for the informal session and 10:00 a.m. for the formal session of the Board of Clark County Commissioners Weekly Meeting. In addition, the commissioners will conduct quarterly special sessions for the Investment Advisory Committee at 10:00 a.m. on April 20, 2017, July 20, 2017, October 19, 2017 and December 21, 2017.

In regular business, Tim Sutter of Ohio Edison, A First Energy Company announced that Ohio Edison is offering programs for both residents and business to help customers manage their energy use. The programs decrease the demand for electricity and reduce cost for their customers. More information can be obtained at In addition, he announced that the company is working on a project to expand transmission lines and substations in Moorefield Township that will modernize the system by reducing redundancy, reducing service disruption and allowing for future growth.

For the Utilities Department, the commissioners approved an increase in the contract with the Ohio Department of Transportation by $19,590 to extend the Dalton Drive water line across SR 235. The bid for the project came in higher than the original estimate. The amendment is effective January 11, 2017 and extends through November 2, 2018.

For the Engineering Department, the commissioners authorized a contract for $508,585 for Brumbaugh Construction Inc. to replace the Old Columbus Road Bridge No 1057. The contract is effective January 11, 2017 through June 16, 2017.

For the Sheriff’s Office, they approved a contract with Bethel Township for $101,021.35 for law enforcement services from January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017. They also authorized a grant submission to the Ohio Development Services Agency for $96,996 for the Local Government Safety Capital Grant to purchase two vehicles with equipment, decals and radios effective January 11, 2017.

For the Community & Economic Development Office, the commissioners appointed Elaine Stevenson to the Clark County Planning Commission for a term to expire December 31, 2019. Stevenson will complete Kenneth Knight’s term, as he is no longer able to serve on the commission.

For Planning and Zoning, the commissioners set the date and time for public hearings on two rezoning requests. The cases will be heard on Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. The first request from Donald Castle is to rezone 4.38 acres at 3720 Moorefield Road from A-1 Agricultural District to B-4 Heavy Business District to operate a self-storage business. In addition, they will hear a request from Nancy E. Neff to rezone 0.53 acres at 10872 Lower Valley Pike from B-2 Community Business to B-3 General Business for an automotive repair shop at that time.

The next meeting of the Clark County Commissioners is scheduled for January 18, 2017 at 8:30 a.m. in the commissioners’ conference room at 50 E Columbia Street.

Local News

Stories on people, places, events and businesses right here in Western Clark County.

Local Government

Meetings and news from local Boards of Education, Township Trustees and County Commissioners.


Arrows, Bees & Warriors; we cover all local high school sports, as well as local semi-pro and adult leagues